[复制链接] 2
回复
查看
打印 上一主题 下一主题
楼主
跳转到指定楼层
分享到:
发表于 2007-6-16 17:18:37 | 只看该作者 回帖奖励 |倒序浏览 |阅读模式

BILL GATES: Good morning, it’s a great honor to be on the panel with these distinguished leaders. This is my first time at the conference and I am very impressed with the important dialogue that is taking place as part of this meeting. I hope I wasn’t asked to be on the panel to represent the county with the lowest growth rate and highest deficit. I think what I’ll focus on is what’s changing in technology. I was surprised to see that the Thomas Friedman’s book, "The World is Flat," is not only popular in the Unites States but also countries throughout Asia.  It’s a big best-seller here in China. That book does an amazing job of talking about how two amazing things have come together. First, the economic development in Asia, particularly the investment, and the focus on education. Second are the advances in technology and the arrival of the Internet. What this has done is changed the rules. One simple way that I like to describe it is the opportunity of a person used to be determined by the country they are living in. Now we can say that the opportunity is much more determined on the education that they receive.

Advances in Asia